Recipe: Steak Strips and Potatoes w/ Kale

For the steak:

1/2 steak (or a whole one, if you want a larger portion)
1 garlic clove
1/3 large onion
5-7 grape tomatoes
1 chipotle pepper

Heat up your choice of oil in a medium skillet. Dice the garlic and sauté. Slice the onion into thin strips, and cut the grape tomatoes in half, then caramelize the onions and tomatoes.

Slice the steak into thin strips. Once you see the onions and tomatoes start to brown, add the steak to the skillet. Dice the chipotle and add. Cover the skillet and cook on medium heat for about 20 min. After 10 min., add a dash of red wine.

For the potatoes:

3 small red potatoes
2-3 inches of pork belly
1-2 garlic cloves
1/3 large onion
kale
salt and pepper to taste

Cut the potatoes into quarters and boil them in a small pot. When the potatoes are soft, turn off the heat and mash them.

Dice the garlic and sauté in a large skillet. Slice the onion into thin strips and caramelize.  Slice the pork belly and sauté.  Chop the kale and cook until it wilts, then add the mashed potatoes to the skillet and mix the ingredients thoroughly. Add as much salt and pepper as you like.

Place the mashed potatoes with kale on a plate and shape into a round platform (see photo), then place the steak strips on top. Pour yourself a glass of red wine, and you’re good. Serves 1.

About Aileen Torres-Bennett

All content on this site was created by Aileen Torres-Bennett, unless otherwise specified. References to material on this site should credit Aileen Torres-Bennett and link to the site.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

86 Responses to Recipe: Steak Strips and Potatoes w/ Kale

  1. Making me hungry and I’ve just eaten! Not a big steak eater but this sound really delicious – must give it whirl 🙂 Thanks for sharing the recipe

  2. You had me at “Pour yourself a glass of red wine.”

    Or two? 😉

  3. That looks really tasty, and we may have to try that for supper tonight. Thank you for sharing.

  4. Arindam says:

    It’s looking delicious. It made me hungry. 🙂

  5. Rae says:

    That dish looks so pretty I might feel guilty eating it.

  6. aFrankAngle says:

    First timer here. Look good … and possible even better with a glass of syrah. Congrats on Freshly Pressed.

  7. That looks tasty. I will recommend this to my friends because I don’t eat beef.

  8. I love all these ingredients together..looks wonderful. Gotta try it.

  9. Anne Schilde says:

    I like the red and green for the Christmas season. Do you make your own chipotle? The kale is prepared almost identically to a brazed chard recipe I use. Do you think it would work well by itself?

  10. newsy1 says:

    Sounds like the perfect recipe, nice and simple. Thanks, the picture looks particularly appetizing.

  11. I just buy dried chipotle peppers. The kale would work well by itself–the pork belly will give it flavor. If you saute bits of tomato with the kale, that would enhance the flavor, too. Enjoy!

  12. If you substitute shrimp for pork belly in the potatoes/kale recipe, that would give nice flavor, too, in case you want to try…

  13. Thanks. I do like pretty food 🙂

  14. Thanks! I like simple cooking with strong flavor.

  15. Angel Love ~ Yummies !!

  16. This looks really good! I usually don’t eat a lot of beef, but I will have to try this!

  17. abichica says:

    Really great recipe, it looks delicious.. 🙂

  18. Cave Story says:

    Marvelicious.

  19. J Roycroft says:

    I’ll try your steak if you’ll try my chili recipe.

  20. Mie K.R says:

    Oh God… So hungry now. 😀

  21. jim says:

    delicious!!

  22. Ziane says:

    It looks really tasty. I might try it next week

  23. Arindam says:

    is there any alternate to beef as i do not eat beef.

  24. whatsaysyou says:

    Oh my! That looks yummy 🙂

  25. Aww, this must be delicious! It looks so. Too bad I don’t like garlic, but I will try the recipe without puting adding garlic! I am sure it will be appetising!

  26. Pingback: Steak & Ale’s Bourbon Street Steak « Ownchef

  27. Bianca says:

    Looks amazing! Will definitely try this.

  28. I need someone to clean up after I’ve prepared dinner. Usually there are about three pots, six mixing bowls and some wooden spoons: all objects that cannot, or are too large to go into the dishwasher. Hooray for simple foods that taste “tasty.”

    Ronnie

  29. The Hook says:

    Very cool creation!

  30. Paprika says:

    yummmm!!!! =)

  31. Nice recipe…..I like steak any way I can get it lol.

  32. Anne Schilde says:

    Thanks, I think I’ll try it!

  33. This recipe would also work well with shrimp or tofu as substitute for the steak. You can also substitute shrimp for the pork belly in the mashed potatoes/kale recipe.

  34. renboy11 says:

    These are DELICIOUS!!! I just ate a BIG plate of this yet i’m ready for MORE!!!! ITS SO GOOD!!!!!!

  35. It’s not even noon, and all I can think about is this steak with a glass of red wine.

  36. I tore into my plate the first time I made this 🙂

  37. ethelthedean says:

    This looks heavenly! I think I will make this over the holidays – and then try it with both tofu and shrimp.

  38. Cool. Switching it up between steak, tofu, and shrimp is a good way to add variety. You could also try it with chicken or fish strips (I recommend swai, basa, or tilapia filets).

  39. Okay, confession time. I figured the kale would keep me away from this dish. But I have to admit it looks fantastic, and if it tastes half that good then you can count me in as a convert. 🙂

  40. This looks excellent. Thanks for sharing. Connie
    http://ablog4souls.wordpress.com/

  41. James Agee says:

    That looks yummy! Very professional recipe! 🙂

  42. Gotta eat your greens! It helps if they’re tasty 🙂

  43. I don’t eat a lot of steak, but I think your picture sold me on this recipe. Thanks for sharing!

  44. Eva McCane says:

    i gotta say that i’m normally into steak, but this sounds super tasty. thanks for sharing!

  45. Eva McCane says:

    i meant NOT normally 🙂

  46. Joe Labriola says:

    Mmm…this is why vegetarianism doesn’t work :/

  47. nevetsjohn says:

    it makes me hungry staring at it 🙂

    good job

  48. valentinedee says:

    This looks great, it really does. I’m not into steak, but my boyfriend is. I just might do this. TY 🙂

    Val

    http://valentinedefrancis.wordpress.com

  49. Imogen Shepard says:

    Hi! This recipe sounds awfully nice. It has ALL the ingredients that I like and I am certainly adding it to my recipe collection!

  50. I am a pescatarian but this sounds so delicious. Yummo!

  51. IT LOOKS so tasty !! !! !!
    Greetings from Poland !!

  52. Strips of tilapia, basa, or swai filets instead of steak would also work 🙂

  53. I was hooked when I saw the garlic and steak part! LOL Delicious! Steak is my favorite!

  54. john0146 says:

    Looks great. Steak and garlic mmmmmm!!!

  55. Jane Dam says:

    I’ve been looking for a good, flavorful kale recipe… thanks!

  56. Thank you for the best recepie ever!!!!!!

  57. Lyssie says:

    It looks and sounds delicious but as I suffer from a tomato allergy it might not work for me, do you think the recipe would work as well with red peppers rather than tomato?

  58. No prob–red peppers are a good choice. They’ll give sweetness to the dish and be a nice counterbalance to the kale in the mashed potatoes.

  59. ricanguy says:

    I am planning a romantic dinner for my spouse this weekend this is just the thing.

  60. oh, kale – i love it! in this combo!

  61. whatmeghansmaking says:

    This looks awesome! Definitely on the list to make.

    Check out my recipes @ http://www.whatmeghansmaking.wordpress.com

  62. Gena Ramsey says:

    I love Kale and steak… I eat Paleo mostly… This looks yummy. Your blog is awesome. I am just starting my blog. Yours looks cool! Great job!

  63. Tasty I think… Thanks from Kerala, God’s own country.

  64. IKP says:

    Fantastic steak! Yummy. Do you have another recipe? Share it!

    http://kitchenmall.wordpress.com

  65. merlylove says:

    wow that just looked mouth watering!

  66. themofman says:

    I’ve . . . got . . . to . . . try . . . this!

  67. Pork belly in the potatoes, yummy!

  68. it’s look delicious. Really great recipe… Thanks for sharing..

  69. BorderTramp says:

    looks delicious. easy and quick. my style of cooking. I will enjoy trying some of your recipes. Thank you for visiting bordertramp.com . Xavi Hunkler

  70. yeahiloveit says:

    Nice post!
    Can we use couple paragraphes for our site http://yeahiloveit.com ?

  71. Thanks for the shout-out, Kiara.

Leave a Reply

