Foo Ramen Bar

Foo Ramen Bar

I like watching Food Network Canada’s “You Gotta Eat Here!” show, which recently showed the casual dining spot Foo Asian Street Food in Victoria, BC. A sister restaurant, Foo Ramen Bar, recently opened up, claiming to be the first ramen eatery in Victoria, and I had a chance to visit last week.

Warning: this place is tiny; it’s a boîte, really, but that’s probably part of the concept, similar to Tokyo ramen joints. The idea is fast food, and the space is tight, so getting a seat, or getting to your seat, can be challenging.

I ordered the chicken ramen, which was only $12 CAD for a more-than-filling bowl. I wasn’t blown away by the broth, but I mixed in some chili peppers, which enhanced the flavor with heat. The noodles were nice and toothsome, and there were plenty of them. I was pleasantly surprised by the large chunks of chicken that came with my ramen; about four pieces, each the size of a small deskinned, deboned thigh. Toppings included green onion and mushrooms. I was hoping for a whole soft-boiled egg infused with broth flavoring, but I only got half a plain soft-boiled egg in my serving; a small disappointment that was offset by the generous portions of chicken and noodles.

The takeaway: a satisfying, good-value meal in a hip, new foodie joint.

About Aileen Torres-Bennett

All content on this site was created by Aileen Torres-Bennett, unless otherwise specified. References to material on this site should credit Aileen Torres-Bennett and link to the site.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.