Pierogies

Pierogies

I was introduced to pierogies when I lived in New York City. I was just beginning to learn how to cook back then. I saw a small pack of pierogies at the supermarket, and I bought them because they were an easy meal that I knew I could embellish with additional ingredients.

We saw a big bag of frozen pierogies at the supermarket here the other day, and, like in my NYC days, I made a meal out of them by adding ingredients to transform them into a more interesting dish. The peas and banana peppers give the dish color, and the bacon infuses flavor.

Ingredients:

1 large pack of precooked pierogies (defrost if frozen)
1/2 large onion, sliced
1/2 bag of peas (defrost if frozen)
4-5 bacon strips, sliced
banana peppers chunks, sliced
aged white cheddar to taste
sour cream or Greek yogurt

Saute the onions until they soften, then stir in the peas and bacon. When the bacon is cooked, add the pierogies, banana peppers and cheddar, then cover. When the cheese melts, stir thoroughly. Serve with sour cream or yogurt topping.

About Aileen Torres-Bennett

All content on this site was created by Aileen Torres-Bennett, unless otherwise specified. References to material on this site should credit Aileen Torres-Bennett and link to the site.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.